Sonning-CC Platinum Sponsors

Ultima Business Solutions - Sonning CC Sponsors 2015 Clarks Legal - Sonning CC Sponsors 2015 Simple Recruitment Services - Sonning CC Sponsors 2015

Sonning Cricket Club is located in the picturesque village of Sonning on Thames, just to the east of Reading, in Berkshire.  

We are a very successful and popular village cricket club. In the 2015 season we will have 3 Saturday teams playing in the Thames Valley League and 2 Sunday teams playing friendlies against clubs scattered across Berks, South Bucks, South Oxon and Surrey.   

The Saturday 1st team will be playing in Division 3 of the Thames Valley League with the 2nd's and 3rd's in Division 5 and 9 respectively.  Sunday fixtures run from late April to mid September, with 5 teams playing each weekend we cater for cricket of all standards.  In addition there are a number of "one-off" fixtures including a match versus the MCC and the likelihood of a 2/3 day tour to Cardiff late July. The 1st and 2nd teams play at our home ground with its traditional cricket pavilion and bar at King George Playing Fields on Pound Lane. Our 3rd team play home fixtures at Blue Coat School.  Both locations have excellent playing surfaces.

The first outdoor net session (subject to the weather) will start on Thursday 30th April at Pound Lane 6.30p.m. Thursday evening is also the club's midweek "clubnight" so if you are not up to the physical exertion of nets come along and limber up over a beer.....Wildthing will be delighted to see you!  For further  information on senior cricket, please contact the Chairman, Jamie Travers (

Our junior membership with roughly 150 boys and girls continues to go from strength to strength following their inaugural season in 2008. In 2012 the club was awarded ECB Clubmark status. In 2015 we will be entering teams into the Berkshire Youth League at age levels U9's, U11's, U13's and U15's as well as non-competitive cricket sessions for the U7's. Training is held for all age groups on a weekly basis at our home ground King George's Field and at Reading Blue Coat School. For further information on junior cricket, please contact the relevant age group manager via the details on our Contacts page.  

We are a very friendly and sociable club run by volunteers, new players who wish to get involved and support a traditional cricket club are always welcome. 

Jamie Travers

Chairman Sonning CC

We are pleased to let you know that the online clothing store is now live at the following direct link:

Serious Cricket offer “high quality playing and teamwear garments” which are “delivered directly to your preferred address within five days.”  A size guide is available on

Please note that if you decide to purchase then the commercial relationship is between you and Serious Cricket and we cannot intervene. However we are interested in your feedback on the quality of product and service that you receive from Serious Cricket as we keep this relationship under regular review.


All Time Top Run Scorers
(since 2004)

7139 - Mark Richards
3065 - Jameel Ahamed
2957 - Richard Harris
2804 - Ali Driver
2799 - Harvey Grout
2786 - Retief van der Walt
2748 - Sohail Aslam
2562 - Kevan Smith
2527 - Bubbu Thava
2289 - Gary Phillips
All Time Wicket Takers
(since 2004)

375 - Abbas Ghulam
201 - Harvey Grout
199 - Jameel Ahamed
186 - Kevan Smith
180 - Mark Anderson
160 - George Troughton
157 - Waqas Tahir
152 - Mark Richards
149 - Zubair Khan
144 - Duncan Parr
All Time Top Fielding Dismissals
(since 2004)

160 - Steve Hill
105 - Mark Richards
92 - James Reilly
90 - Ali Driver
85 - Gary Phillips
74 - Nick Ray
72 - Richard Harris
65 - Retief van der Walt
57 - Duncan Parr
57 - Matt Hill

2015 Season Summary

Sat 1st Team332010
Sat 2nd Team331110
Sat 3rd Team200002
Sun 1st Team320111
Sun 2nd Team220020


No upcoming events!

Upcoming Fixtures

30-May - Sat 1st Team Vs Gerrards Cross
30-May - Sat 2nd Team Vs FALKLAND
30-May - Sat 3rd Team Vs COVE
31-May - Sun 1st Team Vs Reading Lawyers
31-May - Sun 2nd Team Vs Waltham St Lawrence
31-May - U11 Vs Twyford
31-May - U15 Vs Kidmore End
31-May - U9 Vs Shinfield
2-Jun - U12 Vs Crowthorne

Recent Results

23-May - Sat 2nd Team Vs Reading CC - Draw
17-May - Sun 1st Team Vs Hawley - Lost by 10 Wickets
17-May - Sun 2nd Team Vs Earley - Lost by 7 wickets
17-May - U9 Vs Wargrave - Won by 28 Runs
16-May - Sat 1st Team Vs Wooburn Narkovians - Won by 70 runs
16-May - Sat 2nd Team Vs ALDERSHOT - Won by 26 runs
16-May - Sat 3rd Team Vs Kidmore End - Won by forfeit
10-May - Sun 1st Team Vs Twyford - Draw
10-May - Sun 2nd Team Vs Woodcote - Lost by 35 runs
10-May - U9 Vs Shinfield - Won by 33 Runs

Top Run Scorers

150 - Zahid Mohammed
134 - Naqash Tahir
111 - Jameel Ahamed
102 - Adeel Chaudry
66 - Khalilur Rehman

Top Wicket Takers

10 - Zahid Mohammed
6 - Mark Richards
5 - Jameel Ahamed
5 - Adeel Chaudry
5 - Tahir Nawaz

Top Fielding Dismissals

5 - Steve Hill
3 - Raja Rafaqat
3 - Naqash Tahir
3 - Rob Dewey
2 - Jameel Ahamed


No centurions yet!


54 - Tom Huysinga 23-May Vs Reading CC
62 - Adeel Chaudry 23-May Vs Reading CC
63 - Jameel Ahamed 10-May Vs Twyford
51* - Simon Brooks 10-May Vs Twyford
52 - Khalilur Rehman 10-May Vs Woodcote
74 - Zahid Mohammed 9-May Vs Farnham Royal
50 - Tiernan Hick 9-May Vs SLOUGH
78 - Naqash Tahir 2-May Vs YATELEY
52 - Zahid Mohammed 2-May Vs YATELEY

5 Wicket Hauls

No 5 wicket hauls yet!

3 or more Fielding Dismissals in a Game

4 (1c,2st,1ro) - Steve Hill 9-May Vs SLOUGH

Top 10 Quackers

1 - Waqas Tahir
1 - umar akram
1 - Sairam Bhamidipati
1 - Phil Wilding
1 - Peter Hildreth
1 - Nick Ray
1 - James Reilly
1 - Dave Rintoul
1 - Adam Williams
1 - Aamir Tahir

Further information about Sonning CC can be found by clicking the links below


Max McNeill

Jamie Travers
Vice Chairman

Richard Anderson

Gary Phillips

Steve Rayfield
Membership Secretary

Gary Phillips
Fixture Secretary

Dan Anderson
Social Secretary

Adam Baker
Pavilion Manager

Ben Zagorski
Bar Stewardess

Christine Wilding
Not Available
Press Officer

Bill Travers

Strik Pownall
Selection Co-Ordinator

Jameel Ahamed
First Team Manager

Alan Bright
1st Team Vice Captain

James Reilly
3rd Team Captain

Nick Ray
3rd Team Vice Captain

James Kennealy
4th Team Captain

Waqas Tahir
4th Team Vice Captain

Steve Simmons
Sunday 1st Team Captain

Dan Anderson
Sunday 1st ViceTeam Captain

Muhammad Raheem Shaker
Sunday 2nd Team Captain

Ben Zagorski
Sunday 2nd Team Vice Captain

George Wilton
14-Mar-2014Report to Parish Council March 2010Download
14-Mar-2014Key Objectives 2010Download
14-Mar-2014Club Code of Conduct for Young PeopleDownload
14-Mar-2014Club Code of Conduct for Cricket Club Members and GuestsDownload
14-Mar-2014Club ConstitutionDownload

How to find us


From Reading take A4 towards Maidenhead, turn left at the Woodley/Sonning roundabout in to Pound Lane, ground 200 yards on left.

Click Here to See in Google Maps